Skip to content

Snowed-In? Bake Cookies!

November 9, 2011

This is what it looks like out my windows today:

Yep, that’s right.  First snow of the season folks! I celebrated by…

… staying in my favorite pajamas all day…

… reading the new Martha Stewart Living cover-to-cover and marking all the recipes and crafts I want to try…

… eating delicious Waldorf Chicken Salad I made last night (with pomegranate seeds – Mmm!)…

… and, so that AJ won’t think I’m a completely lazy freeloader when he gets home… baking COOKIES!

Maple-Glazed Pumpkin Pecan Cookies

(makes 36 very cake-like soft cookies)

Preheat oven to 350°

Combine dry ingredients in medium bowl:

  • 2 c flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp each: allspice, ginger, nutmeg, and cloves
  • 1/4 tsp salt

In standing mixer bowl, or other large bowl, cream together:
  • 1/2 c granulated sugar
  • 1/2 c packed brown sugar
  • 1 c (2 sticks) butter room temperature
To butter-sugar mix, add:
  • 1 c canned pumpkin (Libby’s brand is obviously the best, what with my name on the label and all)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 large egg

Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients in stages.  Once combined, fold in:
  • 1 c chopped pecans

Drop by heaping tablespoonful onto cookie sheets.

I fit 9 per sheet.  Bake 1 sheet at a time f0r about 15-18 minutes.  Test with a toothpick – since these are very cake-y cookies, you really don’t want them underdone, so don’t be afraid to leave them in the oven if they are at all wet still.  I actually put some back in the oven after they had already cooled, as I realized they were still wet in the center.

Good thing I had supervision during the whole process:

For the glaze, whisk together:

  • 1 1/2 c powdered sugar, sifted
  • 1 T canned pumpkin (you should have some leftover from cookies)
  • 2 T maple syrup (the real stuff folks, c’mon)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • a splash of orange juice (if you don’t have any, just forget it)
The glaze should be pretty thick, not too runny – feel free to add more sugar as needed.  Once cookies are completely cooled, pour a spoonful of glaze on each cookie.
Voila!
Not the prettiest cookies, but they taste damn good!
And now, I think I’ll engage in one of my other favorite snowed-in activities – it’s cocktail time!
What’s your favorite snowed-in activity?  It’s a long winter, I need ideas!
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

