Skip to content

Summer Camp!

July 19, 2011

Sorry for the long hiatus folks – I was away at summer camp!  Along with writing this blog, another amazing thing I had time to do this summer of funemployment was to volunteer as a leader at my old summer camp, Camp Onaway, on the Chain O’ Lakes near Waupaca, Wisconsin.  Of course I had an absolutely amazing time being a role model to over 100 teen girls (don’t laugh, I’m not that terrible of an influence) and reuniting with lots of friends I hadn’t seen since I was 17 myself.

Camp is known mostly for being a place to learn to waterski, canoe the rapids of the Crystal river, act out funny skits, and engage in other such activities.  Camp is NOT known as a foodie paradise (two words: CARB OVERLOAD).  Of course, in order to feed that many kids and leaders at a camp that manages to be incredibly inexpensive by American summer camp standards, the food is reminiscent of public-school cafeteria fare (by the end of the week I was prepared to kill for some fresh spinach).  That said though, a couple great food moments did stand out.

One cool addition since I was a camper is grill-out night.  A huge fire pit was built behind the mess hall, and on one night of the week, a dinner of burgers, brats, and corn on the cob is grilled up.  I helped out the chore staff with this task, really in order to get good pictures of the corn soaking in a canoe of water and to wear sweet safety goggles to protect my eyes from the smoke.  I also especially love the corn-buttering technique used at camp – just dunk the whole ear into a coffee-can of melted butter.  Mmmm…

Another great camp food experience comes every night, after the lights are out and Taps is played, and the little campers are sleeping soundly in their bunks.  This is when the leaders make a bee line to the Mess Hall to raid the fridge and stuff our faces with whatever leftovers and great treats we can find.  Hey, we work hard.  My girl Marlys, who used to be on kitchen staff at camp and is now the hardworking lifeguard all summer, made some killer milkshakes one night: Culver’s chocolate custard, mocha custard, milk, bananas, peanut butter, chocolate syrup, and powdered hot chocolate mix.  Obviously, camp is not the place to try to be healthy.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Of course by the end of the week, I was happy to get home and indulge in the one thing I was most deprived of all week: sweet beer, nectar of the gods.

Happy Summer Campers!

No comments yet

Leave a comment